“Our favourite Island!” – 5 stars

We went to Fitzroy Island for a day trip and were not disappointed. The island is heaven. We swam with turtles. There is a short walk to another part of the island, which was amazing. The crystal clear blue water allowed us to see so many fish, more than what we saw on the Great Barrier Reef! Highly recommend anyone going to Cairns to visit this island!!

Stayed November 2018, travelled as a couple

BrookeFiona (Trip advisor)


“Fantastic Fitzroy!!” – 5 stars

This island is amazing. Family with children aged 7 and 9. We stayed for 3 night’s in an Island Suite. Room was clean, spacious (although the kids shared a sofa bed) and balcony 50m from the beach.
Snorkelling was great, straight off the beach in front of the resort as well as at Nudey beach.
We also did the tour to the Turtle Rehab centre. The guide was very knowledgeable and engaging.
We had full buffet breakfast included in the package we purchased. Was good variety of food. We brought food over from the mainland to make lunch in our room to save a bit of $. But ate at Foxy’s for dinner each night. Delicious and large meals and a reasonable variety.
Would definitely recommend this resort!

Stayed October 2018, travelled as a family

Jan M  (Trip advisor)


“Great island/resort so close to Cairns” – 5 stars

What a great resort/island so close to Cairns. Easy snorkeling straight off the beach, and amazing beaches. A few good walks to explore with no cars on the island. Fantastic views all around with very friendly staff and guests. Our room had an amazing view of the ocean and tree line, such an oasis.

Stayed September 2018, travelled as a family

Jeff R (Trip advisor)


“Fitzroy Island – always beautiful” – 5 stars

We spent four wonderful nights on Fitzroy Island and wished for longer. The lsland is beautiful and relaxed. The lighthouse walk was challenging but the views were rewarding. Snorkelling off the beach and during the wet glass bottom boat tour was great!!! Nudey beach was the tropic ideal. Staff are amazing, helpful and so welcoming. The room was comfortable and quiet. Zephyr restaurant was consistently good, breakfast and dinner. Foxy’s was a great way to watch sunset. We’ll be back!!

Stayed September 2018, travelled as a couple

Fiona23366  (Trip advisor)


“Love this laid back paradise” – 5 stars

We stayed here 3 glorious days. It is a low key resort, that was very relaxed, clean and comfortable. As the island is a National Park, there was lot’s of exploring and beautiful walks. Our room was the least expensive, and though it didn’t have a view, it was very comfortable. We spent most of our time snorkeling, kayaking and walking to the many gorgeous spots on the island. Our buffet breakfast each morning, had a good choice of food. We had dinner at Foxys pub, serving good food while watching amazing sunsets.If you are after a comfortable, relaxing place to stay, I would recommend this resort. It seemed to cater very well for families as well.

Stayed July 2018, travelled as a couple

Bernadette D  (Trip advisor)


“Amazing place to stay” – 5 stars

We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon for two nights. Everything is perfect, the rooms are spacious and amazing, the food at the restaurant is awesome and the staff are very friendly.
We also did the Sunlover Cruise which picked us up from Fitzroy Island and went out snorkeling to the Great Barrier Reef.

Stayed May 2018 travelled as a couple

Amanda M (Trip advisor)


“Perfect Wedding Day” – 5 stars

We had the most amazing wedding day and 4 nights . Special thanks to Mel for going above n beyond to making the day special and also James in the restaurant. We Highly recommend this beautiful island for your magic wedding event

Stayed April 2018, travelled as a couple

Runawaybay2018 (Trip advisor)


“Island Oasis” – 5 stars

Fitzroy Island Resort is the PERFECT relaxing getaway! All the staff are beyond friendly and helpful! I booked the Ocean Suite Room and the view was breathtaking! You get to see the ocean waves crash and you have a full range of beautiful tropical plants and palm trees. Puts you in an instant “vacay mode.” At night it was heaven because you could hear the sound of the ocean waves right from your room!!! I really enjoyed the Turtle Rehab Centre Tour, highly recommend! I learned heaps from Jen and it really raised my awareness about the Sea Turtles. They are very passionate and loving for them. Even the ferry staff are very helpful and kind! If you are staying in Cairns you DEFINITELY need to make a trip here and stay for a few nights! I enjoyed my time there and cannot wait to go back!!!

Stayed April 2018, travelled solo

Vanessa B (Trip advisor)


“Fantastic Day Trip” – 5 stars

Hiking, Swimming, Eating and Drinking! An exceptional day. Started with a challenging hike to the island summit and then cooled down in the water swimming with sea turtles and beautiful sea life. This was my first trip to the inner reef and it was fantastic!!! Ended the day with drinks and a bite to eat at Foxys. If you are in Cairns for a few days I recommend Fitzroy Island, Green Island and at least one trip to the outer reef. Fitzroy has the best of all worlds b/c it offers hiking as well as swimming.

Stayed March 2018, travelled with friends

SoCalAdventureSeeker (Trip advisor)


“Diving Trip” – 5 stars

Had a fully self contained apartment with kitchen and laundry, comfy living and dining room and bedroom with balcony and sea view. Everything was super clean. The staff were professional and helpful. Foxy’s bar is fun and has live music and dancing. The diving is top notch and we saw giant clams, coral gardens and blue spotted rays. The rainforest trails are lovely and parrots abound.

Stayed March 2018, travelled as a couple

Kenduff58 (Trip advisor)


“Snorkelling with Turtles” – 5 stars

Lovely room overlooking the ocean. You can snorkel off the beach and see the coral of the inner reef, see colourful fish and, like us, see turtles. Eat in the restaurant or at Foxy’s bar – nice food and drink and friendly staff.

Stayed February 2018, travelled as a couple

Sholtg (Trip advisor)


“Reef friendly” – 5 stars

The Reef Restoration team and volunteers were welcomed at the jetty by CEO Doug Gamble. The staff at the dive centre, shop and reception were fantastic in helping us undertake our research on coral restoration at Bird Rock. The staff really care about the health of the reef, turtles and sustainable tourism. The national park walks to the Summit and Lighthouse are also spectacular.

Stayed December 2017, travelled on business

Adam S (Trip advisor)


“Absolutely Amazing” – 5 stars

This island and resort is a must to add to the bucket list. We were blown away from arrival to departure. So much to do! We stayed 3 nights/4 days which was perfect for trying most things. It was very sad to sail away from! And the staff at Foxy’s bar were just amazing! Clearest water you will ever experience and we swam with turtles!

Stayed November 2017, travelled as a couple

Sam R (Trip advisor)


“Great snorkelling” – 5 stars

We went for day trip to Fitzroy Island. We were told this was better than Green Island. It did not disappoint. It has nice walks and beaches and a great bar. You can stay at the resort and this was something we wish we had done as we met a few people who were and loved it! There are 2 beaches and as you approach the island the beach to the left is the one to go to. There you will see turtles, rays , black tip sharks and of course coral! Half way up the beach is best place to see the turtles.

Stayed October 2017, travelled as a couple

Brian703 (Trip advisor)


“Beautiful Island Stay” – 5 stars

Gorgeous island, reasonable resort and food, fantastic activities, Adrian in the dive shop is very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, Thanks for everything mate! We loved the grilled barramundi from foxys!

Stayed September 2017, travelled as a couple

Arashk (Trip advisor)


“Exciting beautiful island” – 5 stars

Fitzroy Island is worth a visit. The beach side units are amazing. You can hear the waves rolling in day and night. The natural beauty and the marine life are wonderful. We even saw a Blue Ulysses Butterfly in the wild. The hikes are challenging but worth the effort. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. Zephyrs restaurant was expensive but had wonderful food. Well worth a visit. This island lived up to the expectation!! I would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed August 2017, travelled as a couple

Debra M (Trip advisor)


“Amazing Experience” – 5 stars

Everything was perfect!! The rooms, the pool, the food was amazing our Son just loved it and the crew as well.

We had an amazing experience and we had not even arrived on the island yet. The reservations department, Corey he did an amazing job with our booking.

Also we have to mention that Joaquim (Quin) and Claire from Zephyr Restaurant made our night very special. Sadly we had to leave.

Thank you Corey, Joaquim, Claire & the management for the amazing experience!! See you soon.

Stayed May 2017, travelled as a family

Zerocal (Trip advisor)


“Amazing resort, excellent staff & awesome island treks” – 5 stars

Room was spacious full kitchen great balcony and huge lounge area. The pool area is fantastic with swim up pool bar, foxy bar is great atmosphere. The summit walk is amazing to do and views are spectacular.

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple

Attitudious (Trip advisor)


“Girls Getaway” – 5 stars

We travelled to Fitzroy for a relaxing break with close friends; we didn’t imagine how beautiful Fitzroy Island really is until we got there. Ocean suits are quite roomy and have a great view and were friendly and cleaned the rooms daily. Meals were excellent and we never had to wait for Foxy’s or Zephyr’s. Staff were happy to help and were always up for a chat Craig, Bec, Tommy, Brandon and Simon made us feel at home and very welcome. Snorkelling and glass bottom boat tour was amazing we got to see beautiful fish, Stingrays colourful coral and turtles. There is no doubt we will return to Fitzroy

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends

617petas (Trip advisor)


“Great resort” – 5 stars

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was great.  Beautiful ocean view room and spacious apartment.  Beautiful snorkeling, sea turtles, rays and fish. Turtle rescue centre is worth a tour, so is the walk up to the summit lookout.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

Dean (Trip advisor)


“Great place, my fifth visit” – 5 stars

Excellent accommodation, great food, restaurant or pub grub both excellent , really helpful staff , could not recommend it highly enough, I have all ways had a great experience there and will be going back.

Russel  (Trip advisor)


“Relaxing Island Resort “ – 5 stars

We stayed at Fitzroy Island Resort in the ocean suite. It was worth paying the additional for the suite, which had plenty of space, kitchenette and large bathroom and bedroom and small veranda. The room was immaculate and clean at all times. The resort itself was well kept and each area clearly signposted.

The pool and swim up pool bar were fantastic and we took the short walk to the Nudey beach for a swim and snorkel in the beautiful clear blue water.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the resort was fantastic! We would stay again.

Nic  (Trip advisor)


“Nice Family Getaway” – 4 stars

This is a perfect family vacation, which offers the possibility of snorkeling just in front of the hotel in at least two beaches (fish and coral is just a few feet off the shore!), hiking in the rain forest, or laying in the sun or pool! The hotel also has a small market, dive shop, a restaurant, and a cafe/bar.

Donatella P (Trip advisor)


“My Eden” – 5 stars

The perfect Island resort getaway. Climate is sensational, 30 degrees most days with cooling sea breezes.  Accommodation in the resort was excellent.  Great beds for a comfortable nights sleep. Self contained apartments were roomy if you want to spend time recouping from day and evening activities.

Lots of things to do,  snorkeling, paddle boarding, reef viewing, trips to the Great Barrier Reef or just relaxing on the beach or the pool/pool bar.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

Joe  (Trip advisor)


“Fabulous solo getaway” – 4 stars

Needed a quick solo getaway from Melbourne prior to starting a new job and this was perfect. Very glad I upgraded to ocean view room (first floor 201), which I was extremely happy with, large and closest to central facilities.

All the staff was fabulous and extremely friendly – no drama on travelling solo amongst families and couples.

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo

Sally  (Trips advisor)


“Awesome place and great staff”

Catching the cat over is just the start of an awesome experience; you approach Fitzroy Island and just think yeah this is a bit of me. The view from your suite is just amazing, the staff are all happy, who wouldn’t be working here?  Great place, great times!

Coco (Trip advisor)


“Great Escape” – 4 stars

Stayed for four days for my wife’s birthday. The staff could not have been more courteous. The GM himself went out of his way to assist us with special requests we had.

Stayed in an ocean view suite – very spacious, well appointed, and most comfortable, with all mod cons (included full oven and microwave, fridge, etc.).

Overall excellent value for money

Sam (Tripadvisor)


“A great Break” – 4 star

The room was comfortable and very clean. We stayed at the far end of the resort, which was a good location, close to the beach and the start of the walk up to the lighthouse. The restaurant has a small but interesting menu and there is food available at the beach bar too.

The boat trip was comfortable and quick. The turtle rehabilitation centre was very informative and great to see it in action.

Ros (Trip advisor)


“Amazing place for rest and relaxation” – 5 stars

Took a break from the miserable Melbourne weather and jetted up to Cairns, then ferry transfer to Fitzroy Island. 45 minutes after leaving Cairns, we arrived on our home for the next 4 nights. What a beautiful place! The resort is discreet and almost hidden amongst the vegetation.  Would highly recommend this place to anyone needing a break or a change of scenery.

Stayed October 2016

Danny (Trip advisor)


Family Birthday weekend with luxury” – 5 stars

Our family enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Fitzroy Island in 2 one bedroom beachfront units with restaurant package included. The weekend was perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated and complete with everything we needed. The restaurant package was divine. Excellent 3 course meals each night and amazing breakfast buffet. Fabulous place.

Mrs Kim (Trip advisor)


“Helpful staff, beautiful location!” – 4 stars

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and very reasonably priced for a resort on an island!  Plenty of options of activities to choose from and spectacular beaches right at the doorstep.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends

Gracie (Trip advisor)


“Relaxing and a pleasant surprise” – 4 stars

We stayed 4 nights which was fantastic. First holiday without the kids, just what the doctor ordered. Great, friendly staff. We had the Ocean view room and we weren’t disappointed.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple

Lym (Trip advisor)


“Always wanted to stay here!” – 5 stars

I have always wanted to stay here but only ever been on a day trip so when we were offered half-price accommodation for our honeymoon, we jumped at the chance. We stayed 2 nights and loved it.

We had a huge apartment with an ocean view on the 3rd floor. It had everything we needed and the view was fantastic.

Bubbles (Trip advisor)


“ Stunning resort!” – 5 stars

Had a great week with my family, the resort was really beautiful. Fantastic views and the kids had fun, too. The sea is absolutely unique; the food was good and the staff friendly. Would do it again and again. Totally recommend this place.

Kris (Trip advisor)


“A little bit of paradise” – 5 stars

Our stay was magical…living in the rainforest for 3 days in this resort was a privilege and highly recommended. The island is beautiful; calm and peaceful allowing us great quality family time. The food at Zephyrs and at Foxy’s bar was brilliant ams the staff were all exceptionally accommodating and friendly.

Would recommend the challenging hike up the lighthouse path…got will be rewarded with spectacular views and the turtle sanctuary. This island is nature at its best.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family

Stephanie (Trip advisor)


“Great Place to go” – 4 stars

Stayed for 5 days unfortunately I was pretty crook after picking up some virus on the plane. Still enjoyed as much as possible & found the staff so helpful with moving me to the ground floor & other little things. Could only eat the last day & was great buffet.. Enjoyed the walks & little hut by the sea for snacks & drinks.

Looking forward to going back to enjoy all the things my friend got to do e.g. the snorkel trip she loved, never haven done that before…. Thanks Reception & staff. This was last August 2015 Will try to be back again soon.

Marlene (Trip advisor)


“Yummo” – 5 stars

Had a fantastic time on the island. The staff were are amazing and more than willing to go the extra mile to make sure your experience will never be forgotten. Food in both venues was great and couldn’t fault it. Facilities and activities on the island are definitely worth their value. A must do while in Cairns.

Sam  (Trip advisor)


“A tropical affordable paradise” – 5 stars

Fitzroy Island Resort just off Cairns. What a wonderful time we had in a glorious pool, which also has a spa, which was very relaxing and therapeutic. Walks through the historical rainforest to the lighthouse and summit were picturesque. Lots of water sports and snorkelling that lets you view the vibrant corals and marine life.

After all this activity and needing a rest there is happy hour at Foxy”s!! GREAT!  There is also a cinema with three sessions daily.

Most of all we would like to thank the wonderful, helpful, caring and obliging staff at the resort,

Thank you to Doug and Adrienne for the most wonderful 6 days anyone could ask for, we will definitely be back!

Tex and Carol (Trip advisor)


“Fantastic stay” – 5 stars

Just stayed for 3 days in studio room. ABSOLUTELY loved this place. The staff were all friendly and helpful.  Accommodation was great on level 3.. Ate at both restaurants and great meals.  Snorkeling for the first time in years off beach and also enjoyed glass bottom boat tour with another reef to snorkel on. Couldn’t fault this place.

Angie and Kels (Trip advisor)