“Great Resort” – 5 stars

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was great.  Beautiful ocean view room and spacious apartment.  Beautiful snorkeling, sea turtles, rays and fish. Turtle rescue centre is worth a tour, so is the walk up to the summit lookout.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

Dean (Trip advisor)


“Great place, my fifth visit” – 5 stars

Excellent accommodation, great food, restaurant or pub grub both excellent , really helpful staff , could not recommend it highly enough, I have all ways had a great experience there and will be going back.

Russel  (Trip advisor)


“Relaxing Island Resort “ – 5 stars

We stayed at Fitzroy Island Resort in the ocean suite. It was worth paying the additional for the suite, which had plenty of space, kitchenette and large bathroom and bedroom and small veranda. The room was immaculate and clean at all times. The resort itself was well kept and each area clearly signposted.

The pool and swim up pool bar were fantastic and we took the short walk to the Nudey beach for a swim and snorkel in the beautiful clear blue water.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the resort was fantastic! We would stay again.

Nic  (Trip advisor)


“Nice Family Getaway” – 4 stars

This is a perfect family vacation, which offers the possibility of snorkeling just in front of the hotel in at least two beaches (fish and coral is just a few feet off the shore!), hiking in the rain forest, or laying in the sun or pool! The hotel also has a small market, dive shop, a restaurant, and a cafe/bar.

Donatella P (Trip advisor)


“My Eden” – 5 stars

The perfect Island resort getaway. Climate is sensational, 30 degrees most days with cooling sea breezes.  Accommodation in the resort was excellent.  Great beds for a comfortable nights sleep. Self contained apartments were roomy if you want to spend time recouping from day and evening activities.

Lots of things to do,  snorkeling, paddle boarding, reef viewing, trips to the Great Barrier Reef or just relaxing on the beach or the pool/pool bar.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

Joe  (Trip advisor)


“Fabulous solo getaway” – 4 stars

Needed a quick solo getaway from Melbourne prior to starting a new job and this was perfect. Very glad I upgraded to ocean view room (first floor 201), which I was extremely happy with, large and closest to central facilities.

All the staff was fabulous and extremely friendly – no drama on travelling solo amongst families and couples.

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo

Sally  (Trips advisor)


“Awesome place and great staff”

Catching the cat over is just the start of an awesome experience; you approach Fitzroy Island and just think yeah this is a bit of me. The view from your suite is just amazing, the staff are all happy, who wouldn’t be working here?  Great place, great times!

Coco (Trip advisor)


“Great Escape” – 4 stars

Stayed for four days for my wife’s birthday. The staff could not have been more courteous. The GM himself went out of his way to assist us with special requests we had.

Stayed in an ocean view suite – very spacious, well appointed, and most comfortable, with all mod cons (included full oven and microwave, fridge, etc.).

Overall excellent value for money

Sam (Tripadvisor)


“A great Break” – 4 star

The room was comfortable and very clean. We stayed at the far end of the resort, which was a good location, close to the beach and the start of the walk up to the lighthouse. The restaurant has a small but interesting menu and there is food available at the beach bar too.

The boat trip was comfortable and quick. The turtle rehabilitation centre was very informative and great to see it in action.

Ros (Trip advisor)


“Amazing place for rest and relaxation” – 5 stars

Took a break from the miserable Melbourne weather and jetted up to Cairns, then ferry transfer to Fitzroy Island. 45 minutes after leaving Cairns, we arrived on our home for the next 4 nights. What a beautiful place! The resort is discreet and almost hidden amongst the vegetation.  Would highly recommend this place to anyone needing a break or a change of scenery.

Stayed October 2016

Danny (Trip advisor)


Family Birthday weekend with luxury” – 5 stars

Our family enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Fitzroy Island in 2 one bedroom beachfront units with restaurant package included. The weekend was perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated and complete with everything we needed. The restaurant package was divine. Excellent 3 course meals each night and amazing breakfast buffet. Fabulous place.

Mrs Kim (Trip advisor)


“Helpful staff, beautiful location!” – 4 stars

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and very reasonably priced for a resort on an island!  Plenty of options of activities to choose from and spectacular beaches right at the doorstep.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends

Gracie (Trip advisor)


“Relaxing and a pleasant surprise” – 4 stars

We stayed 4 nights which was fantastic. First holiday without the kids, just what the doctor ordered. Great, friendly staff. We had the Ocean view room and we weren’t disappointed.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple

Lym (Trip advisor)


“Always wanted to stay here!” – 5 stars

I have always wanted to stay here but only ever been on a day trip so when we were offered half-price accommodation for our honeymoon, we jumped at the chance. We stayed 2 nights and loved it.

We had a huge apartment with an ocean view on the 3rd floor. It had everything we needed and the view was fantastic.

Bubbles (Trip advisor)


“ Stunning resort!” – 5 stars

Had a great week with my family, the resort was really beautiful. Fantastic views and the kids had fun, too. The sea is absolutely unique; the food was good and the staff friendly. Would do it again and again. Totally recommend this place.

Kris (Trip advisor)


“A little bit of paradise” – 5 stars

Our stay was magical…living in the rainforest for 3 days in this resort was a privilege and highly recommended. The island is beautiful; calm and peaceful allowing us great quality family time. The food at Zephyrs and at Foxy’s bar was brilliant ams the staff were all exceptionally accommodating and friendly.

Would recommend the challenging hike up the lighthouse path…got will be rewarded with spectacular views and the turtle sanctuary. This island is nature at its best.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family

Stephanie (Trip advisor)


“Great Place to go” – 4 stars

Stayed for 5 days unfortunately I was pretty crook after picking up some virus on the plane. Still enjoyed as much as possible & found the staff so helpful with moving me to the ground floor & other little things. Could only eat the last day & was great buffet.. Enjoyed the walks & little hut by the sea for snacks & drinks.

Looking forward to going back to enjoy all the things my friend got to do e.g. the snorkel trip she loved, never haven done that before…. Thanks Reception & staff. This was last August 2015 Will try to be back again soon.

Marlene (Trip advisor)


“Yummo” – 5 stars

Had a fantastic time on the island. The staff were are amazing and more than willing to go the extra mile to make sure your experience will never be forgotten. Food in both venues was great and couldn’t fault it. Facilities and activities on the island are definitely worth their value. A must do while in Cairns.

Sam  (Trip advisor)


“A tropical affordable paradise” – 5 stars

Fitzroy Island Resort just off Cairns. What a wonderful time we had in a glorious pool, which also has a spa, which was very relaxing and therapeutic. Walks through the historical rainforest to the lighthouse and summit were picturesque. Lots of water sports and snorkelling that lets you view the vibrant corals and marine life.

After all this activity and needing a rest there is happy hour at Foxy”s!! GREAT!  There is also a cinema with three sessions daily.

Most of all we would like to thank the wonderful, helpful, caring and obliging staff at the resort,

Thank you to Doug and Adrienne for the most wonderful 6 days anyone could ask for, we will definitely be back!

Tex and Carol (Trip advisor)


“Fantastic stay” – 5 stars

Just stayed for 3 days in studio room. ABSOLUTELY loved this place. The staff were all friendly and helpful.  Accommodation was great on level 3.. Ate at both restaurants and great meals.  Snorkeling for the first time in years off beach and also enjoyed glass bottom boat tour with another reef to snorkel on. Couldn’t fault this place.

Angie and Kels (Trip advisor)